Scholarship Associated Bank has announced the names of 15 winners of its 2011 Founders' Scholarships and Community Awards.

The program, open to the children of Associated employees, each year attracts entries from dozens of highly gifted and motivated high-school and college students. The winners are chosen, by a Selection Committee composed of educational professionals, on the basis of their prospects for continued academic success.

The winners of the 2011 Founders' Scholarships, and their Associated-family parents, are:

  • David Burr, son of Daniel Burr, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Austin and Ryan Dodge, sons of Kathleen Dodge, Stevens Point, Wis.
  • Tyler Johnson, son of Kari Johnson, Peterson, Minn.
  • Luke Medinger, son of Timothy Medinger, Holmen, Wis.
  • Hannah Miller, daughter of Daniel J. Miller, Shawano, Wis.
  • Ashley Roarty, daughter of Michael Roarty, Green Bay, Wis.
  • Christopher Rolling, son of Jane Rolling, Oak Creek, Wis.
  • Andrew Ruetten, son of Alan Ruetten, Rhinelander, Wis.
  • Jayni Sanghavi, daughter of Ketan Sanghavi, Green Bay, Wis.
  • Tyler Turgeon, son of Lisa Turgeon, Green Bay, Wis.

Founders' Scholarship winners who have enrolled in four-year programs each receive $1,500 toward their academic careers, with the awards being renewable for each of the next three years as long as their academic performance remains strong and their parents continue working for Associated. Those choosing two-year programs at community colleges each receive $750 annually for up to two years, with the same conditions for renewal.

Associated Bank Community Award winners are selected for their outstanding community service efforts. This year's recipients, and the parents who work for Associated, are all from Green Bay:

  • Jacob Belongia, son of Nanette Belongia
  • Kaitlyn Driscoll, daughter of Michael McTavish
  • Leah Miller, daughter of Daniel J. Miller
  • Alexander Pipp, son of Stephen Pipp

Each of these winners receives a one-time award of $250.

These award programs are fulfilling their mission of making a difference in the lives of Associated employees and their families. The Founders' Scholarship Fund, for example, was established in 1982 to honor the company's founders – John M. Rose, J. Russell Ward and Henry R. Schuette. To date, it has contributed over $500,000 to the educational pursuits of more than 100 students.